Mile Zero Dance Board of Directors

Mile Zero Dance’s Annual General Meeting will be held on October 2o, 2019 at 12 PM at Spazio Performativo. Hear our artistic and financial reports on the 2018/19 season, review our financial reports, vote for 2019/20 board members, and enjoy a potluck!

Please join us!

Brooke Leifso | President

Brooke Leifso works in professional theatre and community art practices. She is currently working on her Masters of Arts in Expressive Arts Therapy – Conflict Transformation and Peacebuilding:  exploring how the process of art-making can aid in the process of social cohesion and change. She is a skilled facilitator in popular education and social justice models and directly applies them where possible. She has worked on multiple projects with forms of marginalization. In professional performance, she regularly dances with CRIPSiE and has worked in various positions for Edmonton Fringe Theatre, Theatre Yes, Workshop West Playwrights’ Theatre, Jumblies Theatre (Toronto) and Ground Zero Productions.

Tyler Sherard | Treasurer

Tyler Sherard is an Arts Administrator and Dancer. As Interim Executive Director for The Friends of University Hospitals he leads artists and arts programs that help to positively shape hospital experience of patients, visitors and staff at the U of A Hospital. As a late-in-life ballet student and dabbler of contemporary dance forms, he has fallen in love with movement-based art practice, and most importantly with Mile Zero Dance!

Morgan Pinnock | Secretary

Originally from New Brunswick, Morgan Pinnock moved to Alberta to study Fine Arts at the Alberta College of Art + Design. Since relocating to Edmonton in 2015, Morgan has earned a Diploma in Arts and Cultural Management from MacEwan University, and has been an active member of the art community as a volunteer and member of several not-for-profit art organizations. In addition to being a Producer and Account Coordinator at a local marketing agency, Morgan is also an artist and musician.

Jane Ogilvie | Director

Jane has been studying flamenco dance, song, piano, and percussion at home and abroad for over 20 years. She is an active performer, teacher, and leader in the Alberta flamenco community, involved with flamenco artists from across Canada and Internationally. In addition to her interest in the study of flamenco. Jane holds her ARCT in piano from the Royal Conservatory of Music and a Bachelor of Fine Arts in printmaking from the University of Calgary. She has been teaching piano to all ages since 1989 and continues to work on small graphic design projects. She currently divides her time between a thriving piano studio, flamenco classes and performance, and her role as the Artistic Director of the Edmonton Flamenco Festival.

Bryan Roberts | Director

Bryan graduated from the University of Alberta with a Bachelor of Science degree in physics before pursuing a career as an electrician. They have been involved in the labour movement as an administrator and organizer for over a decade. Relatively new to the world of dance, Bryan discovered contact improvisation in 2016 though Mile Zero, and threw themself into the form studying with various teachers throughout Canada. Through the classes and performances presented by Mile Zero Dance Bryan fell in love with dance as an art form and hopes to help Mile Zero bring appreciation of dance to new and unexpected audiences.

Piet Defraeye | Director

PIET DEFRAEYE teaches Performance Studies at the U of A Drama Dept.  He combines critical and practice-based research. He has published on a wide field of theatre, opera, dance, but also on film and the paintings of Attila Richard Lukacs. He most recently contributed a chapter on Alain Platel for a volume on C de la B in the Bloomsbury Performance series. He has embarked on a large research project that focuses on the representation of Patrice Lumumba in Cultural Discourse. Directing credits include:  Arnold Wesker’s The Kitchen (1999), Von Kleist’s Amphitryon (2001), Elfriede Jelinek’s What Happened After Nora Left Her Husband, (2005), Schnitzler’s La Ronde (2007), de la Chenelière’s Bashir Lazhar (2009-11), Mia Van Leeuwen’s White Bread (2014-15), Pieter De Buysser’s The Last Tragedy (2018).

Laura Porter | Director

Laura Porter is an interdisciplinary artist from Edmonton, Alberta. Her practice lies at the intersection between artistic production and ethnographic research, using live performance and video to examine the boundaries between documentary and fiction. From 2015-2017 she worked for the Fieldschool for Ethnographic Sensibility, an anthropology program in Belgrade, Serbia that teaches research-creation and sensory based ethnographic methods. Porter has exhibited at Mile Zero Dance, Harcourt House, Creative Practices Institute, Latitude 53, FAB Gallery, and Kulturni Centar Grad in Belgrade, Serbia and was a member of Mindhive Collective, an experimental theatre group from 2011-2017. Porter completed a BA at the University of Alberta and continues to live and work in Edmonton.